Digital Signature Certificate

Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) is the electronic format of physical or paper certificate like a driving License, passport etc. Certificates serve as proof of identity of an individual for a certain purpose; for example, a Passport identifies someone as a citizen of that country; who can legally travel to any country. Likewise, a Digital Signature Certificate can be presented electronically to prove your identity, to access information or services on the Internet or to sign certain documents digitally.

Use of Digital Signature Certificates

You can use Digital Signature Certificates for the following:

  • For sending and receiving digitally signed and encrypted emails.
  • For carrying out secure web-based transactions, or to identify other participants of web-based transactions.
  • In e-Tendering, eProcurement, MCA [for Registrar of Companies e-filing], Income Tax [for e-filing income tax returns] Applications and also in many other applications
  • For signing documents like MSWord, MSExcel and PDFs.
  • Plays a pivotal role in creating a paperless office.
Income Tax
Foreign Trade

Types of Digital Signature Certificates

  • Class I Certificate:

Class I certificates are issued only to individuals. They are used primarily for secure email purposes.

  • Class II Certificate:

Class II certificates are issued to individuals as well as authorized executives of organization. The Class II Certificate is intended to use for Digital Signature, and Encryption of messages. It is issued based on the verification of the application form and the certificate request.
The Applicant/Subscriber submits the Certificate Application and the documents as mentioned in the check list given in the application form. Class 2 Certificate identification process is a method of authenticating a certificate applicant's identity, and it does not require the applicant's personal appearance before the RA.

  • Class III Certificate:

Class III Certificates are issued to Individuals, authorized executives of Organization as well as Servers. Class II Certificates provide important assurances of the identity of individual subscribers by requiring their personal (physical) appearance before an RA or CA.

Class III Certificates for Secure Web Server will help web servers to enable secure communications through the use of Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) technology. Along with the application form the authorized person must give the domain name or the Server IP address on which it needs the Certificate. The domain name must be registered and the proof must also be accompanied with the application. The Class III Certificate is intended to use for Digital Signature, Encryption of messages, Object signing and Secure Web Server.
The private key corresponding to the public key contained in any class of certificate must be generated and stored in a trustworthy manner according to applicable requirements of CCA guidelines. CA or its authorized executive has the right to reject the certificate request if he/she finds the request for DSC not meeting the criteria. Actual class of certificate required for any particular application depends on the recommendation of relying party, hence applicants are advised to confirm the class and type of digital signature certificate.

Class of Certificate Type of Certificate Validity Intended Usage Apply now
Class I Individual 1Year
Secure email Apply now
Class II Individual 1Year
Secure email, IT and ROC e-Filing, Document Signing, specified e-Tenders Apply now
Class II Organization 1Year
Secure email, e-Filing , Document Signing, specified e-Tenders Apply now
Class III Individual 1Year
Secure email, e-Tenders, Document Signing, Secure Authentication Apply now
Class III Organization 1Year
Secure email, e-Tenders, Document Signing, Secure Authentication Apply now

Associate With
Copyright 2014. All rights reserved by
Designed and Maintain By Betatech Solution.